Y10 – 29/04/16

Due: 03/05 (Issued: 29/04)

Task

  • Read through the following extract and add further annotations which respond to the effects or feelings created.
  • Think about symbolic ideas, where what is described reflects bigger or wider issues.
  • Identify the feelings expressed in the extract
  • Complete one RACERS paragraph

Musts

  • Correct punctuation
  • Correct capital letters
  • Check your spellings

Extract

Those first few minutes after we climbed over the Balcony Ledge onto the ridge, I began to warm up. I felt the blood now reach into my feet again and my legs lost the stiffness that the wait had caused. My breathing reached the level again where you just heave aggressively into your mask. My eyes stared at the snow in front of me. I noticed that it was getting lighter and that the storm had passed. As we were drawing closer it seemed as if the mountain was beginning to open her arms to us. I felt an energy now that I had not had before. I pushed the pace on.

I moved past Neil and mumbled to him that I had to keep moving. The faster pace was keeping me warm. He nodded slowly as I went past. His head was low and he looked deeply exhausted. But I knew he wouldn’t stop, he was too close and he knew it. Today was 26 May, the day his father had died some fifteen years earlier, when Neil was only nineteen. The fact that this early dawn at 28,000 feet  Neil was struggling with every sinew, one last time, to achieve what had so cruelly eluded him now twice, was all the more poignant. His father somewhere up above would be cheering him on; of that I was certain. He leant over his axe, heaving into his mask. I knew, though, that he would not turn round, so carried on.

Translation

Esses primeiros minutos depois que passou por cima do balcão Ledge para o cume, eu comecei a aquecer. Senti o sangue agora chegar em meus pés de novo e minhas pernas perderam a rigidez que a espera havia causado. Minha respiração atingiu o nível novamente onde você acabou de levantar de forma agressiva em sua máscara. Meus olhos olhou para a neve na frente de mim. Notei que estava ficando mais leve e que a tempestade passou. À medida que foram se aproximando, parecia que a montanha estava começando a abrir os braços para nós. Senti uma energia agora que eu não tinha antes. Eu empurrei o ritmo diante.
I passou por Neil e murmurou para ele que eu tinha que manter em movimento. O ritmo mais rápido foi me manter quente. Ele balançou a cabeça lentamente como eu fui passado. Sua cabeça estava baixa e ele parecia profundamente exausto. Mas eu sabia que ele não iria parar, ele estava muito perto e ele sabia disso. Hoje foi 26 de maio, o dia em que seu pai tinha morrido cerca de quinze anos antes, quando Neil tinha apenas dezenove anos. O facto de esta madrugada em 28.000 pés Neil estava lutando com todas, uma última vez tendões, para conseguir o que tinha tão cruelmente lhe escapava agora duas vezes, foi ainda mais pungente. Seu pai em algum lugar lá em cima seria aplaudi-lo; de que eu estava certo. Ele se inclinou sobre seu machado, levantando em sua máscara. Eu sabia, porém, que ele não iria virar-se, de modo continuado.

