Y9 – 05/10/16

Due: 10/10 (Issued: 05/10)

Title: To what extent do you agree?

Task

A student having read the different ways that the policeman treats Mrs Johnstone and Mr Lyons, said “These parts of the text, detailing the different ways the policeman talks to both parents, shows how factors such as wealth, education and the use of dialect dictates how the two classes are treated differently.”

To what extent do you agree?

In your response, you could:

  • Consider your own impressions of the policeman in these two extracts
  • Evaluate how the writer shows the policeman’s differing use of language
  • Support your opinions with quotations from the text

Extract A

extract1

Extract B

POLICEMAN: An’ er, as I say, it was more of a prank, really, Mr Lyons. I’d just dock his pocket money if I was you. (Laughs). But, one thing I would say, if y’ don’t mind me sayin’, is well, I’m not sure I’d let him mix with the like of them in the future. Make sure he keeps with his own kind, Mr Lyons. Well, er, thanks for the drink, sir. All the best now. He’s a good lad, aren’t you Adolph? Goodnight, sir. (He replaces his helmet.)
The POLICEMAN leaves.

