Y7 – 12/05/17

Due: 16/05 (Set: 12/05)

Title: Analysis and rewrite of Black Boy

Time: 20-25 minutes

  1. Write out your selected quotation in a spider diagram
  2. Explore keywords, subject terminology and connotations
  3. Complete your rewrite:

Point: The writer uses language to…

Evidence: This is revealed in the quotation “…”

Identify: The         
Define: “…” shows/suggests…

Writer: The writer is signifying / implying / suggesting…
because…

Reader: The reader feels / imagines / thinks…
because…

Link: Further, the writer…
This is further supported by the quotation “…”

Extract

Red circles were eating into the white cloth; then a flare of flames shot out. Startled, I backed away. The fire soared to the ceiling and I trembled with fright. Soon a sheet of yellow lit the room. I was terrified; I wanted to scream but was afraid. I looked around for my brother; he was gone. One half of the room was now ablaze. Smoke was choking me and the fire was licking at my face, making me gasp.